Daily Prompt: A Brand New You, Effective Tomorrow

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/31/prompt-new-you/

Tomorrow is the first day of a brand new year. Tomorrow you get to become anyone in the world that you wish. Who are you? You can choose to by anyone, alive today or someone gone long ago. If you decide to stay “you” share your rationale.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us METAMORPHOSIS.

This is the first time I’ve written a post using Daily Prompts, so please don’t go too harsh on me!

It’s true that I’m a man. It’s also true that I’m a man who likes to be himself, more than most realise. It may seem a little adventurous when it comes to writing about this idea, but it’s the pure and honest truth – I would rather face my own demons. I don’t think that everyone is born with a purpose in life – to be honest I don’t like the idea of destiny and fate, but I do think that everyone makes their own purpose in life, and through that we can live.

Life, for me anyway, is the process whereby we make mistakes and overcome them, and whereby we experience all aspects of the world. Therefore to live, you really have to go wandering. I remember watching Joss Whedon’s ‘Firefly’ and Inara saying, “…every problem is an opportunity in disguise.”, and I think that can be true in a lot of cases. What can you learn from what’s gone wrong? Firstly, you can probably learn how to prevent it from happening again. That’s automatically one point to you! One point to living a full life! I think that’s strangely beautiful.

Experiencing everything in the world first hand is invaluable as well. If you were someone else surely you would have all their memories and thoughts, and everything you are includes your experiences and thoughts. Perhaps it’s just such an alien idea to me, that I couldn’t imagine being anyone else. But if you run from your demons, I don’t think you’ll get anywhere either. I laugh at how much like myself I sound! However it is what you do that make you who you are I think.

Does that mean, then, that if you inherit the body of another that you then have the responsibility of sorting out and facing that person’s demons, perhaps even on top of your own? Perhaps, but leave your views and opinions up for discussion here!

 

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: A Brand New You, Effective Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

