Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit

Which quirky habit annoys you the most, and what quirky habit do you love — in yourself, or others.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us QUIRKY.

 It’s very annoying when there are so many annoying habits to choose from. I don’t know a lot of people who have ‘quirky habits’, however. There are so many plain, average yet annoying habits that I do and stop doing all the time, but I can’t think of one that is particularly quirky. There is one thing, however, that I find odd and particularly indecent, and that’s when you’re in a public toilet, for instance in a train station, and you see men who are pissing in a toilet with the cubicle door wide open. Sometimes all you see is a whole row of guys facing the wall standing with their legs apart – it’s both annoying and hilarious, depending on your mood.

The reason I find this habit annoying I think is because there are often urinals free when they do this, and also because a cubicle door is meant to be shut when in use! There is a large number of men who do this I think (as you can tell I’m not one of them). I even have friends who, when I go to see them to talk, will walk off to the loo, still talking to me, and take a W.C break mid conversation with the door wide open! I laugh at the memories actually, but I just think it’s kind of indecent, as well as being kind of quirky.

Another quirky habit I find annoying that I do personally is leaving books on my bedside table after I read them at night. This is something that I have been doing as long as I can remember, and it results in a large pile of books materializing every week which I then have to put away on my bookshelves (which are in fact in alphabetical order to help me find things). I’m not exaggerating when I say this takes a needlessly long time – I will often have up to twenty books to put away at the end of a week. It’s something I’ve tried to stop doing, however by the time I stop reading it’s often past midnight or in the small hours of the morning, I’m tired, and I just can’t bear to leave the warmth of the bed.

These two quirky habits between them are very annoying indeed, and I’ve grown to despise them.

However, on the contrary, there are some quirky habits I love. For example, some of my friends are very organised and get into very constructive habits very quickly. The best one of these is probably the one I like to call “The Efficiency Mechanism”. It’s extraordinary I think. This habit is basically where you are at home, and you plan ahead, perhaps for hours in the future, and brings stuff up and down the stairs, in and out of rooms, so that you have everything you need, where you need it hours before you do it. I’m constantly running up and down stairs, fetching thesauruses and dictionaries. I dream of developing such a habit as “The Efficiency Mechanism” – it must save so much time! However I think there is a mindset best suited to this kind of long-term planning, perhaps not my own.

That would certainly be quirky.

Other quirky habits (my ‘related content’ gadget thing has disappeared so if anyone knows how to get that back up and running, as well as the automatic tag suggestions, please leave your advice in the comments! Thanks!):

  1. Stretch! | A Teacher’s Blog
  2. The Habit of Fear | Shrine of Hecate – Ramblings of a New Age Witch
  3. Daily Prompt: You Are Not Michael Jackson | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. Write | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Quirky Love | Active Army Wife
  6. A Penny For Your Thoughts | The Jittery Goat
  7. Hate Late « Mon Cache
  8. Quirk of habit | Sue’s Trifles
  9. DP Daily Prompt: Quirk Habit | Sabethville
  10. DP Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Sabethville
  11. A Quirk | Kate Murray
  12. Cultivating Eccentricity | alienorajt
  13. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit – Instincts & Intuitions
  14. Quirk Away! | meanderedwanderings
  15. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  16. Quirks and Fancies | Wicked Words
  17. Quirks, don’t smirk. | Hope* the happy hugger
  18. Quirks and Such | Short Story Sally
  19. SO SLOW | The Photo Faith Challenge
  20. Quirky | Lux
  21. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  22. R is for “Random-Dancing” | Retrofocus
  23. Never Trust a Smiling Cat | Just Visiting This Planet
  24. Burying Quirk | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  25. Embracing Me: Uniquely Strange | THE OVERCOMING
  26. Spring Peeper | Exploratorius | Photo Hack & Curious Wanderer
  27. Daily Prompt: Quirky « Vicariously Poetic
  28. Quirks | Flowers and Breezes
  29. Quacky Quirk! | LenzExperiments
  30. daily prompt: quirk habit | aimanss…
  31. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  32. Don’t Call Me Ma’am | Finale to an Entrance
  33. Quirking | Steve Says….
  34. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/12/daily-prompt-quirky/ | all my likes
  35. Procrastination and Coffee/Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  36. Stop! That Is So Annoying. | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  37. CYNICAL ECCENTRICITY: THEY WILL THANK US SOMEDAY | SERENDIPITY
  38. Quirky habits – Elephantine Bakasana | Mishe en Place
  39. Children’s Oddities | A mom’s blog
  40. Daily prompt: Quirk or Habit: Did I marry a beaver? | jesus was a primate
  41. Quirky Habits – Technology a Two Edged Sword | TamekoTheArtist
  42. Quirk of Habit | The Nameless One
  43. All about the quirk: Being yourself, full tilt | Lauren Kells
  44. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Occasional Stuff
  45. Daily Post: Quirk of Habit | A Clueless Monkey’s Thoughts
  46. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Occasional Stuff
  47. Daily Prompt: Sometimes Quirky is a Part of a Good Photo Shoot! | Daily Prompt & Blogging Progress
  48. creativity | sunshine in winter
  49. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | A Room of One’s Own
  50. Pelos nossos hábitos | Sonhos desencontrados
  51. Nature…..it can be | The Land Slide Photography
  52. ah! | yi-ching lin photography
  53. How The Selfie Transformed My World
  54. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Nicole Sloan’s Writing
  55. Habits Of Quirk | Chunky Brain
  56. Photogenic Squirrel (Quirky) | photo potpourri
  57. Quirk of Habit | Geek Ergo Sum
  58. Quirks | hodgepodgemenage
  59. Day 12 Again: How To Live Beautifully | The Sacred Architecture of Here and Now
  60. Earworm: Say Something | VernetteOutLoud
  61. Rob’s Surf Report
  62. [M.M.X.I.V. 12] Crosswalks | Never A Worry
  63. Quirky | My Play Nook
  64. Work that magic | 2 times pink
  65. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | niennie
  66. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Basically Beyond Basic
  67. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  68. Fire Marshal Judy | 365 Days of Thank You
  69. Daily Prompt: Quirk Of Habit | The Wandering Poet
  70. Newsroom Quirkologist | Overcoming Bloglessness
  71. Quirks | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  72. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Hot chocolate and books
  73. Quirk or Superstition? | Barby’s Red Pill Diaries
  74. Daily Prompt: Quirky Habit | This Blog Needs A Title
  75. Quirks of a Habitual Reader | The Silver Leaf Journal
  76. Excessively Loud Gum-Chewing | Nodus Tollens
  77. Lighting the Way | Wiley’s Wisdom
  78. Daily Prompt: Quirky | Lines of Orenda
  79. Quirk of Habit | My Kaleidoscope
  80. 250. Quirky | Barely Right of Center
  81. Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Indira’s Blog
  82. Opening Lights | Like Ocean Waves

15 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit

  1. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

