My First Award!

Yesterday evening I was nominated for the Liebster Award for blogs with less than two hundred followers! Yay! Huzzah! Many thanks to Avelynn Green (as I understand it, that is her blogging name and not her real name), whose blog can be found here.

The rules are simple, so please give me some time to understand them.

Liebster Blog Award 21. Each nominee must link back the person who nominated them.
2. Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.
3. Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers.
4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
5. Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

So here are the questions, and my answers to them:

1. What is your favorite country?

My favourite country has to be Japan. I just love the culture and the one time I went there was just magic – I had always wanted to go there, as I grew up watching Japanese cartoons and playing video games that originated in Japan. I even started learning Japanese for a while!
2. What did you want to be when you grew up when you were little?

When I was little I always wanted to be a musician who wrote about their experiences, sort of like the heroes and adventurers that we used to play at being when we were kids too! Hopefully that will still turn out to be the case, although I just want to be as happy as I can be.
3. What are you most proud of?

I am most proud of getting through the bad bullying I had to put up with at school for the best part of five years. In a way it’s made me who I am today, and I’ve always strived to be better than those who put me through hell back then. I remember being told “It’s going to be fine, things can only get better.” and, despite not believing it for one second whilst it was happening, it did get better! In fact I’ve gotten my confidence back, I’ve made new friends who support me through everything and who I have the best of times with. To anyone reading this who is getting bullied, I say to you: even at the worst of times, it’s going to get better. Enjoy every little good thing that arises, have hope, and you will end up being proud of yourself and what you did, and it will set you up for the rest of your life.
4. What is your secret talent?

I’m so open about most basic things about myself. I tend not to keep secrets about myself, although I can keep a secret very well if someone asks me to keep one. Although, technically speaking, even though some people know I’m over-analytic, they often don’t know how over-analytical. For example today I was able to work out whether someone was hiding in a room, despite them making it look empty, even though I was in the room for about a minute. I even knew where the person was! If you’ve seen BBC’s Sherlock then you might get a better idea of how my mind processes and works, although he’s a genius and knows so much more than I do. So that’s my talent, to be unbelievably over-analytical.
5. Who is your favorite artist?

René Lalique by quite a long shot. He was an Art Nouveau jewellery designer who created a lot of very fine, clever, expensive jewellery. For example, this is his work Pendant de cou avec chaîne Femme Libellule, ailes ouvertes’.Libellule Ailes Ouverte Rene Lalique I once wrote an essay on this beautiful piece of jewellery and there are so many interesting concepts that he uses.I think that Lalique’s style, whereby he makes the female form very much the centerpiece of the design yet incorporates other forms such as vines and insects, is shown extremely well in this single design. In a way it’s more of a painting than a necklace – the female figure is almost framed by her wings (yet somehow the colours are inverted – you would usually expect to see the gold on the frame and the natural colours in the painting) and I think that this adds incredible depth to it which you may not find in anything similar.

I think that the clever relationship between the position in which the figure is in and the colour is very important – it is one of the main things that manages to provoke a feeling of almost ‘homely’ warmth; perhaps something relating to the idea of an open fire. I find this ironic as something as delicate as a dragonfly would be instantly destroyed in a flame, but the colours gold and the crystal shine of the diamond give the figure and the design generally a look of invincibility or immortality, or timelessness.
6. If you could learn one thing that is impossible for humans, what would it be?

I would learn how to be able to fully learn from our mistakes, as it sometimes seems like human nature to make the same mistakes twice. I can’t remember that quote…
7. Who is your oldest friend?

My oldest friend is a crazy girl who is one of the five friends I used to play with as a kid, and who I grew up with for the first ten years of my life. We don’t get to see each other very often anymore, but she does come round to visit sometimes and we message occasionally over Facebook. She’s crazy, arty, an aspiring actress, and has been starring in increasingly more amateur productions of Shakespeare plays. One of these I went to a few months back. The play was ‘King Lear’ which is my all-time favourite Shakespeare play. I was very entertained as it was an all outside production, and we were led by spirits playing medieval instruments to different parts of the pristine mansion gardens where the play was being held. A great experience indeed!
8. Have you ever stolen anything?

Never ever. Ever. Maybe a few cookies.
9. Winter or Summer? Why?

Winter is my favourite season. I hate being too hot, however I don’t mind being to cold because I’m not often very cold. I seemingly have good circulation and am always opening windows in buildings. I also love the Winter scenes – snow, ice, the framework of different trees, Christmas, etc. Winter is magical.
10. Would you rather be able to relive the past or see the future?

I am a person who always tries to dwell in the now, and who doesn’t dwell over the past and past mistakes. I think that if I could see the future I be able to do some kind of “superhero good” within the world – perhaps a kind of ‘Minority Report’ scenario whereby I foresee murders and stop them before they happen, or maybe just your average prophet. Anyhow I’d much rather see the future than relive the past, knowing that I might do something good.

My own nominees for the Liebster Award are as follows:

  1. pausetoplay.org, a wonderful blog written by a very talented woman. Well worth the read!
  2. The Overcoming, which again is a very enjoyable blog which aims to inspire people and help people through the battles in life. Please go and support!
  3. Everything Anime is what every anime fan needs. Complete with reviews and upcoming news, the blogger behind this blog works very hard and I appreciate his efforts! Anime fans must visit this page!
  4. The Dull, Unadventurous Life of Mine is a very enjoyable blog. The writer says in his ‘About page’ that he has a “very low opinion of my ability to write – This blog has no point other than to keep me amused and happy, and hopefully entertain some people out there!”. As far as I’m aware he’s entertained me so please show him some love and support over on his blog and make sure he knows his writing is good!
  5. We are all trees is the next blog on my list. I like this blogger’s writing style and general creativiness. Please go show some love!
  6. Internalisation is written by an aspiring medical student who aims to aspire  others in life, and through her blog! I like this blog quite a bit so please go check it out!
  7. Start with a Story is a really interesting blog that tackles and discusses some interesting subjects! A very cool blog indeed!
  8. snowhiteice is written by a student at California University who is writing their first “would-be novel”. I’ve been enjoying her stories, see if you do too!
  9. Self Wonder is just such a positive blog it’s incredible! Makes you feel all warm inside, go get an invisible hug from this blog!
  10. trifesandtruffles is my final nominee for the Liebster Award. The blogger writes a lot of different things, from mothering her children to cookery. I’m enjoying it so far so please check it out too!

So there they are, my ten sparkling nominees. Over the course of the evening I will be writing little comments on their About pages to  direct them here to find out about the Liebster Award! The last part now is to give them ten of my own questions, so here they are:

  1. What motivates you most in life? Is it your family, your friends, your own will, the weather – I look forward to your answer!
  2. What the next big thing that you know is going to happen in your life? How are you approaching it?
  3. Home or abroad? Why?
  4. What do you fear the most? Why do you fear it?
  5. What’s the memory you cherish the most? Why?
  6. Do you like where you live? What are the best/worst things about it?
  7. Do you learn best through doing, listening or seeing? Why do you think that is?
  8. Who is the most important person in your life? What makes them so special?
  9. What’s your idea of a great night?
  10. How would you describe yourself in ten words?

There are my ten questions for my ten bloggers. I hope you have fun answering them, and please link back to this post as well so that I can find all the posts! The last thing I need to say is another huge thank you to Avelynn Green for nominating me for the award in the first place, and whose blog can be found here.

(P.S. – Sorry everyone for not doing a Daily Prompt post today, I was very busy and this post needs to take priority! I will be back on it tomorrow! Have a nice day/evening!)

5 thoughts on “My First Award!

Leave a Reply

