Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does

Tell us about the nicest thing you’ve ever done.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us KINDNESS.

 Sorry for yet another late post today guys – I have been extremely busy with music, and my lunch-break from 1 till 2 was taken up by playing bass guitar in a new trad.(Scottish traditional music to be clear) group! However, I have dedicated myself to Post a Day, and post a day I shall!

This evening I had to ask what was the nicest thing I’ve ever done, because I genuinely never think I do anything particularly nice. Someone said that the nicest thing I’ve done, and still do, is listening to people. I think the reason that I don’t know what ‘kind’ things I do is because the word ‘kind’ doesn’t click in my head. Decency is what I consider it as, and always have. As with many aspects of my personality, this probably originated from the years of bullying and the absence of ‘kindness’. At that point in my life any kindness I took as decency, mainly because I was so angry at the world. However, when I say I don’t know what kind things I do, I don’t mean I’m angry at the world, but I am just used to seeing kindness as decency because, ultimately, to be kind is just a decent thing to do.

As a musician, I like to reflect on things through listening. It helps me to think. This is why my friends often find it easy to talk to me about their troubles, because I listen with interest and give it thought. If they wrote the problems on a piece of paper and gave it to me to read, I don’t think I would a) be nearly as engaged or b) come up with as good solutions. But I’ve been doing this forever it seems, it’s part of me. Does that make it kindness then? Kindness, to me, equates to a considerate and perhaps helpful act that you make/do out of your way, comfort zone, or out of your ordinary nature. I do that occasionally, but the other things I do that others also consider kind I do not find to be ‘kind’, only decent and sensitive. Tell me – is that kindness?

Other kindnesses:

  1. To Serve Mankind | The Jittery Goat
  2. Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Under the Monkey Tree
  3. The Everyday Sexism Project, Caesar and John Lennon | AS I PLEASE
  4. Nice – very nice 🙂 | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Kids get to me faster than anyone | From One Crazy Life To Another
  6. Kindness | My Little Avalon
  7. DP Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Sabethville
  8. Host | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  9. Is it false to be nice? | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  10. The Daily Post: Nicety Nice : SiegMom
  11. Violins, cars and stereos: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  12. 365 days of defiance
  13. Daily Prompt: Nice is as Nice Does | Thoughts of an INFP
  14. Be Nice | A mom’s blog
  15. Daily prompt: Nice as nice does | The Wandering Poet
  16. Nice is as Nice Does – Daily Prompt « My journey to qualify for the Boston Marathon…and everything in between…
  17. Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  18. smile | yi-ching lin photography
  19. Daily Post: Nice is as Nice Does | a Portia Adams adventure
  20. DP Challenge Nice Is as Nice Does/ Helping Hand | Living and Lovin
  21. Daily prompt: nice is as nice does | ferwam
  22. DP challenge: Kindness | Busy Mind Thinking
  23. stumbled | Musings from a practical mystic
  24. Nice Is as Nice Does | The Nameless One
  25. Another Moment of Kindness | Geek Ergo Sum
  26. Tell us about the nicest thing you’ve ever done. | LiteralGospel
  27. Daily Prompt: Being Nice | Paul Davis
  28. A Treat Dispenser… | Haiku By Ku
  29. Daily Prompt: Nice as Nice Does | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  30. Act of Kindness to change the World. | Chimerical Chicanery
  31. Body Dysmorphia | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  32. If I Had a Pass | A Good One
  33. Daily Writing Prompt | My Moment of Kindness | Sam Wight’s Blog
  34. Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Awl and Scribe
  35. Man’s Best Friend | L5GN
  36. When Niceness Meets the Sermon on the Mount | meanderedwanderings
  37. Is Nice The Meanest Word In The English Language? | froodian pseudoanalysis
  38. Nice is as Nice Does: The Jacket | The Shotgun Girls
  39. Why ? | Shadows Of The Divine
  40. Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | littlegirlstory
  41. Daily Prompt:Kindness « Sithiram
  42. Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  43. Thank You Masked Man/ Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  44. Daily Prompt: Nice Is As Nice Does | One Starving Activist
  45. Altruism and Survival | Stephanie auf Reisen
  46. I’m a Nice Person. But Why? | Read Me
  47. Kindness Conquers Loneliness….wp daily prompt | Daily Observations
  48. Daily Prompt: Being Nice! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  49. I won’t lie – my first instinct was one of Oh Shit. | thoughtsofrkh
  50. Be True | Chasing A Dream
  51. Asking Is A Nice Thing! – Passionately Bored
  52. Nice, SuperNice | To Pursue Happiness
  53. Scha-wing! | The Playground
  54. Kindness of strangers | Mishe en Place
  55. On a clear day !! | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  56. I’m Probably a Terrible Human Being | jigokucho

17 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does

      1. Oh sorry! Then it’s me being stupid! I just can’t remember missing one apart from once. As for writing them, I first try to interpret different meanings of the ‘key’ word then use the best meaning I come up with that a) fits into the preceding question as well as b) having some kind of recent significance to my life. Of course this varies day to day, for example today I’m very tired indeed so please excuse any misreading or misinterpretations, as well as the shorter post! I usually begin and finish writing a Daily Prompt in a space of half an hour on weekdays and an hour on weekends, and I strive to get them published as soon after the Prompt itself is published. However, like today, I utterly failed at that! Is there some more specific information you’d like? (P.S really sorry for not understanding your first comment! Argh, being tired is the pits!)

      2. Ah right! No, not all at, like I said it would probably help if I actually slept! 😛 Well, Daily Prompts are often a great way to…well…prompt you to write something that you wanted to write subliminaly but not consciously, and at the very least it certainly fights off Blank Page Syndrome! Anyways, I hope you have a great evening! 🙂

Leave a Reply

