Daily Prompt Catch-up: Walking on the Moon

What giant step did you take where you hoped your leg wouldn’t break? Was it worth it, were you successful in walking on the moon, or did your leg break?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us RISK.

This is my first catch-up for now. I was in the Edinburgh Central Library, Reference Library (gorgeous building, must visit if you’re in Edinburgh – it’s on the top floor), on a computer for two hours doing some work due to my infamous craptop failures, and I decided to attempt at doing some writing on the blog. However the computer did this funny thing that meant that all the text on the screen of the “New Post” page was invisible! So apologies for that, however that frustration has led me to doing this prompt which I meant to do on Saturday!

It has to be said, I am not one for taking risks – at least not anymore. I play it safe in most cases, often going out of my way to do so. However the only exception to this is when I’m playing music. A musical “risk” can be a lot of things, but what I mean by it is something that you do that might go against the grain; something unconventional. As a musician I think it’s important to put in a couple of quirks when you feel like doing so. In a performance, for example, I might do something spontaneous stylistically (obviously not completely crazy: subtlety works best!); something that I haven’t practised doing for that piece yet which will work nicely. Risks in music is what brought us Debussy, Shostakovich – in fact you can go right back to Medieval/Renaissance music whereby one composer wrote a Mass setting based on a particularly dodgy, secular song!

Indeed, in a lot of situations, in science for example, you must take risks to progress! I know that my risks in music lead to enjoyment, and that can be progress too.

Risks of other natures:

  1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Basically Beyond Basic
  2. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | a Portia Adams adventure
  3. My Giant Step – Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  4. Four Things I Learned About Freedom From an Uber-Strict Prep School | Kosher Adobo
  5. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon- Being Independent | Journeyman
  6. I Think My Leg Is Broken | Musings | WANGSGARD.COM
  7. Rocket To The Moon . | Crossroads
  8. A Rainy Day At Home (short story) and The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  9. One Crazy Mom » Taking the Next Step
  10. I’m Michael Jackson | Knowledge Addiction
  11. I Will Weather | Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | likereadingontrains
  12. DP Daily Prompt: Walking On The Moon | Sabethville
  13. Walking On The Moon – You Kidding! | Views Splash!
  14. Daily Prompt: The Giant Step — A Haiku: Sunday, February 23, 2014 | LisaRosier.com
  15. It’s All About Trying… | Life Confusions
  16. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | A Violin on Baker Street
  17. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Here I am !!
  18. Extinction | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  19. Hunters – reloaded | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  20. Inappropriate love | shame
  21. We Ought to Obey God Rather Than Men | Among the Whispers
  22. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  23. If You Lose Your Head While Cooking, It Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  24. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon « Mama Bear Musings
  25. A giant step | Sue’s Trifles
  26. Have Faith In God | Flowers and Breezes
  27. I liked the place so much I bought more than the t-shirt! | thoughtsofrkh
  28. DAILY PROMPT: Risk | cockatooscreeching
  29. Dare To Dream | My Little Avalon
  30. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon – LOVING THE ALIEN | Phoenix Fights
  31. Three Firsts In A Day | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  32. Daily Prompt: Being Intrepid! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  33. Craters in my heart. | Your Best Friend from the DMV
  34. Risky Business for this Girl Born in the Year of the Rat « psychologistmimi
  35. here’s to evolution | y
  36. milking the way | peacefulblessedstar
  37. What giant step did you take where you hoped your leg wouldn’t break? | askgrampa
  38. Walking on the Moon | I Write Therefore I Am
  39. Leap and the Net will Appear | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  40. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  41. Tiny Pieces | Barefoot on Rainy Days
  42. Losing Blood | The Land Slide Photography
  43. Daily Prompt: A Leap of Faith | Wright Outta Nowhere
  44. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Delicious Ambiguity
  45. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Infinitefreetime
  46. I’m Not Afraid of Lunar Monsters
  47. Some may say I’m wishing my days away… | An Upturned Soul
  48. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | The Wandering Poet
  49. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  50. Dream awake | mnemosynesandlethe
  51. Igmutaka’s Blessing | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  52. Two Years Later | Recovery Miles
  53. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  54. Where’s the Function Key for “Risk?” | by LRose
  55. A plea on behalf of all of us who self-publish. Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  56. for a pigeon | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  57. DP_Walking on the Moon…or should I say – Gliding in the Sky! | Essence of Del
  58. Risk: Daily Post | Destino
  59. Haiku: Walking on the Moon | Mirth and Motivation
  60. My First Step Out of Rock Bottom to Start My Walk on the Moon | Ever Upward
  61. I did not break a leg | mombox
  62. Defying Gravity | Retrofocus
  63. My Disney College Program (A quick summary of why) | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  64. Hall of Shame | Exploratorius
  65. Moon Walking For Dummies | Overcoming Bloglessness
  66. Risk- The fear and excitement of taking that important first step | A picture is worth 1000 words
  67. Risk: Walking on the Moon | Yowza, Here We Go!
  68. My brief American dream | Life is great
  69. Risk | Focal Breeze
  70. Risk Taking… Beware! | The Christian Gazette
  71. Walking on the Moon | Alexia Jones
  72. Giant Step: Kelly’s Cheesecakes and Cookies | 365 Days of Thank You
  73. Daily Prompt: Risk | That Montreal Girl
  74. Daily promp: Weighing it up | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  75. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Lady K’s Lounge
  76. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Lady K’s Lounge
  77. Daily Prompt: Risk | Morrighan’s Muse
  78. Sunday Snapshot: Walking on the Moon | Tommia’s Tablet
  79. JUMPING SHIP | SERENDIPITY
  80. Life – risks = boring | Willow’s Corner
  81. The Art of Doing a Header | Awkward Laughter
  82. Care to Dare | Rima Hassan
  83. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Raspberry’s Daydreams
  84. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | bardalacray
  85. Recipe: Giant Chocolate WTFs | Be Less Amazing
  86. THE RISK TAKER | DANDELION’S DEN
Leave a Reply

