Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)

What is the best dream you’ve ever had? Recount it for us in all its ethereal glory. If no dream stands out in your memory, recount your worst nightmare. Leave no frightening detail out.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us IMAGINARY.

Oh the world of dreams! I love dreams, although I tend not to have them so regularly anymore; however this means that I appreciate them even more when I do have them!

Often people’s moods are affected by how they sleep; restless, relaxed, filled with vibrant imagery, filled with terrible imagery. For me as a musician and writer I can pour these experiences into what I do. Recently, you may or may not recall, I had a particularly bad dream, although it wasn’t terrifying in the sense of gory and blood-filled. It put me on-edge for the entire week. This shows how influential dreams, and indeed nightmares, can be.

My favourite dreams are the ones in which I am travelling. I love travelling; however, again, I don’t do it nearly as often as I used to. Recently I had a dream about going on a ferry to France, as I have done before. This was probably sparked from listening to La Mer by Debussy, which I talked about in my DP post yesterday. I love France, and I have gone there on holiday seven times. My dream started off on the ferry, and was accompanied by Debussy’s La Mer, starting at dawn and going right into a storm – in the same way as the piece progresses. It was quite overwhelming actually – the inspiring imagery and the inspiring music made it pull at my heart-strings in the same way as in a nightmare, when you are terrified because you can’t move.

When I arrived at the port, somewhere near the border with Belgium probably, I experienced that well-known sensation of all the blurred images and a headache, being pushed along the “storyline”, until I gained some kind of control and found myself under the centre of the Eiffel Tower. When I visited the Eiffel Tower for the first time, when I was a kid of about 5 or something, I always went underneath the centre and dizzied myself. because of the sheer size of it. Like I would have done in real life, I went to a café and ordered coffee.

And that, folks, was more or less the dream, one of my favourites. It’s funny that your dreams, despite being imaginary, can also be quite realistic. The human imagination certainly is an art form.

Other imaginary people:

  1. Back In Bug and The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  2. Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams- The Psychology of Dreaming | Journeyman
  3. Deliverance | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Fairy Wings- Non Fiction | Rose-tinted Rambles
  5. Sky on floor level | Le Drake Noir
  6. Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me
  7. I Dreamed About Avril Lavigne | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES
24 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)

Leave a Reply

