Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone

Ever have an experience that felt surreal, as though you’d been suddenly transported into the twilight zone, where time seemed to warp, perhaps slowing down or speeding up? Tell us all about it. If you haven’t had an experience in real life that you can draw from, write a fictional account of a surreal experience.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SURREAL.

Today I had my recital assessment like I told you about last night. It went really, really well! To be honest, I was really glad that I had written a blog post as preparation for the questions as well, because I think I impressed them with my knowledge of the pieces and their composers. Funnily enough, I felt so ‘at home’ when I was playing. The surreal properties of it make it an ample story to tell today.

So, I started with the Prokofiev Cello Sonata, 2nd Movement, and it went really well. My accompanist actually came and got me to rehearse with me this morning unexpectedly. In the assessment, Prokofiev was better in areas than I had rehearsed, and likewise there were also some mistakes. However, and this is where the surreal part comes in, I did experience during playing both my pieces this feeling whereby time did actually seem to warp.  When you are so enclosed within your own world I think time can go at different speeds at different times. I felt so at peace and at war, the emotions I felt reflecting similar moments in the pieces.

I would love to hear about other peoples experiences of performing, not just music, but anything – poetry, juggling – ANYTHING.

Sorry it has to be a shorter post today, however I am really busy. Sayounara!

P.S – here are some other surreal posts:

  1. Karma For a Lapsed Veggie | AS I PLEASE
  2. Mad Hatter and I | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Ecclesiastical rocket | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Lime Plant in White | Exploratorius
17 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone

  1. Pingback: Lisa's Kansa Muse

Leave a Reply

